MTV VMAs 2019
4 months ago 96 Kakashi

Read on to find out what happened at the VMA'S!

The 36th annual MTV VMA's have taken place in Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey, this year which was hosted by the comedian Sebastian Maniscalco on 26/08/2019.

From the start, both Ariana Grande and Taylor Swift were said to be lined up for the most awards. Both of them were given equal sharing on the night, they both won three awards each. Ariana who didn't attend the event earned the awards for Best Art Direction, Song Of The Summer for boyfriend with Social House, and Artist Of The Year and Taylor Swift earned the awards for Video Of The Year, Video For Good, and Best Visual Effects.

Billie Eilish who also did not show up to the event earned three awards for Best New Artist, Push Artist Of The Year, and Best Editing for hit song Bad Guy.

Although the award presenting was rushed there were performances which the viewers enjoyed there was a performance where Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello almost delivered a kiss tease which will leave everyone gossiping about their romance for weeks. 


The show was opened with Taylor Swift singing You Need To Calm Down, with references to the Equality Act before she called  out the White House in her acceptance speech over the petition surrounding it.

Missy Elliot who had been awarded the gong of Video Vanguard this year, delivered a killer medley of tracks, Lizzo had brought an inflatable Bum prop and her vocals were said to have been incredible. Miley Cyrus debuting new song Slide Away which is her break up anthem as she recently broke up with Liam Hemsworth.


Although this year wasn't as historical as previous years there were a lot of impressive performances. The lively performances kept this event afloat.

 MTV VMAs 2019 winners:

Video of the Year:

Taylor Swift – You Need to Calm Down

Artist of the Year:

Ariana Grande 

Song of the Year:

Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus – Old Town Road (Remix)

Best New Artist:

 Billie Eilish

 Best Group:


Best Power Anthem:

Megan Thee Stallion ft. Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla Sign – Hot Girl Summer

 Song of the Summer:

Ariana Grande & Social House – Boyfriend

Best Collaboration:

Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello – Señorita

Push Artist of the Year:

Billie Eilish

Best Pop:

Jonas Brothers – Sucker

Best Hip-Hop:

Cardi B-Money

Best R&B:

Normani ft. 6lack – Waves

Best K-Pop:

BTS ft. Halsey – Boy With Luv

Best Latin:

ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho – Con Altura

Best Dance:

The Chainsmokers ft. Bebe Rexha – Call You Mine

Best Rock:

Panic! At The Disco – High Hopes

Video for Good:

Taylor Swift – You Need to Calm Down

Best Direction:

Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus – Old Town Road (Remix)

Best Visual Effects:

Taylor Swift ft. Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco – ME!

Best Editing:

Billie Eilish – Bad Guy

Best Art Direction:

Ariana Grande – 7 Rings

Best Choreography:

ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho – Con Altura

Best Cinematography:

Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello – Señorita

Fashion Trailblazer:

Marc Jacobs

Video Vanguard Award:

Missy Elliott

What are your thoughts on this? Let us know in the comments down below!